365daystogive's Blog


Tuesdays are my new favorite day
March 30, 2010, 2:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I found  myself looking forward to today, Tuesday, when I realized that I would now get to spend it with such a cool little girl (my lunch buddy).  As I sat in the cafeteria waiting for her class to come down I looked around at the other kids who most likely didn’t have a mentor of their own.  Some looked like they might need it more than others and I was surprised when a few kids said “Hi Ms. Molly” to me despite us having never been introduced.  I guess when there is a new buddy on the scene word gets out quickly.

As last week my buddy ordered a salad with a pear and we went to go sit in the cafeteria.  I had brought a golden delicious apple so she wouldn’t feel so awkward eating in front of me, but she still managed to do most of the talking while her salad greens lay under her fork.  Once she got going this girl couldn’t stop talking, it was like a dam being released of its constraining walls.  I loved the stories that she told me about her family and especially how she had spent a few yeas (how many I couldn’t determine) living in Mexico before coming back to the States.

My favorite stories were about her younger brother who is four years old.  The little boy who wants to be an oval when he grows up, switches the water out with pickle juice in his mom’s usual water jug and plays her Candyland game while she is at school.  The brother who she taught how to read and now wants to have reading contests with her.  I just can’t help thinking again what an amazing little girl she is and what possibility she holds for the future.  She is very aware of her situation “momma says that we live in a bad neighborhood” and told me how her brother’s, sister’s and momma’s allowances all had to be used to buy a retainer for her.  Nothing gets by this little girl despite her quiet demeanor.  I hope to pass her by one day on the streets and see what an amazing woman she has grown up to be.  For now, I am a little sad that they have spring break next week.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment